About NAB Young Footballer of the Year

Larissa Crummer and Jamie Maclaren
NAB searching for next young star Play Video
The NAB Young Footballer of the Year program in the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League supports young football talent, whilst recognising the value that junior clubs make to the community and the development of young players.

Each month, outstanding performances by young players are rewarded with a monthly nomination for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. At the end of the season a panel of experts vote for an overall winner for both leagues using a 3-2-1 points basis. NAB has introduced the opportunity for fans to have their say, opening a Fan Vote to assist the expert panel in selecting the winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. Each winner receives a $10,000 personal investment portfolio and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with meeting their financial goals.

NAB recognise the impact that junior clubs have on a player’s career, which is why each nominees’ junior club receives a NAB Club Recognition Award, including practical and financial resources to assist the club in continuing to develop future Australian football stars.

Australian and New Zealand Hyundai A-League players aged 23 years and under and Westfield W-League players aged 19 years and under are eligible to win the award.

NAB Young Footballer of the Year Winners:

Year                      Name                   Club

2005–06              Nick Ward           Perth Glory         

2006–07              Adrian Leijer       Melbourne Victory

2007–08              Bruce Djite          Adelaide United              

2008–09              Scott Jamieson   Adelaide United              

2009–10              Tommy Oar         Brisbane Roar   

2010–11              Mathew Ryan     Central Coast Mariners 

2011–12              Mathew Ryan     Central Coast Mariners 

2012–13              Marco Rojas       Melbourne Victory         

2013–14              Adam Taggart    Newcastle Jets 

2014–15              James Jeggo      Adelaide United              

2015–16              Jamie Maclaren Brisbane Roar